Cross to Bear

I’ve probably walked by this building a hundred times. Today was the first time I noticed this cross rising out of the heart in the iron scroll work. Though organized religion is not my bag, faith is a different matter. So much of the way love works hinges on faith–the willingness to believe in the energy of the unseen, the desire to trust what’s felt, what intuitively presses up against your bones instead of what’s objectively know.

Believe, it seemed to rasp as I stopped to click.

I will, I replied.

Leave a Reply

